India Blind Cricket World Cup 2017

India thrashed Pakistan by 9 wickets to lift the T-20 world cup for the blind on Sunday. Chasing a daunting target of 198, India lost just one wicket and chased the target with 14 balls to spare at M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Blind cricket is a version that was adapted for partially-sighted and blind cricketers. It has been managed by the World Blind Cricket Council (WBCC) since 1996. India has been a regular member of WBCC. India has actively participated in all its events – One day formats or the T-20 world cup.

Both, India and Pakistan, reached the final after having a terrific run in the league and knockout stages. India lost just one game on their road to final, that to against Pakistan. And they eventually revenged that loss after defeating Pakistan in the final.

The T-20 Final

For India the star performer was Opener Prakash Jayaramaiah, who top scored with an unbeaten 99. Jayaramaiah assaulted Pakistan with 15 fours during his knock of 99. Captain Ajay Kumar also contributed with a quick fire 43. He had a good opening stand with Jayaramaiah, which laid a good foundation to the chase.

T-20 Blind
Image Source

Earlier Pakistan after winning the toss, posted 197/8 in 20 overs. The scoreboard was made on a quick fire 50 of Badar Munir, who scored 57 runs of just 37 deliveries. They had a good start but kept losing wickets in the end. Eventually ending up at a score of 197/8 which is considered par at this ground. For India, Ketan Patel and Jaffar Iqbal picked up two wickets each.

Notable personalities congratulated the Indian Team through twitter, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, legendary Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar and many others – 

We wish Indian blind cricket team more good fortune for the future and hope their hard work and game inspires many more to overcome physical disabilities and shine bright in the world.

Featured Image





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here