Understand The Power of YOGA in today’s world


Last Updated on

Yoga is a journey that allows you travel within you and to discover yourself.

Yoga enlightens you within, it takes away your stress and gives you the gift called as peace. Yoga is practised world wide and thus to celebrate its essentials, the world cherishes 21st June as world’s Day of Yoga !


Image Source

Like Father’s Day or Mother’s Day or Children’s Day.. Yoga day is been given huge importance globally. The Word yoga itself means, when small self meets infinite self and mergers into universal self and the blend is called as Yoga! In the world, yoga is generally considered as Hatha Yoga or Asana. In Asthanga yoga there are 8 limbs of yoga:

  • Yama- Universal Morality
  • Niyama- Personal Observances
  • Asanas- Body Postures
  • Pranayama- Breathing Exercises and Control of Prana
  • Pratyahara- Control of the senses
  • Dharana- Concentration and Cultivating inner perceptual awareness
  • Dhyana- Devotion, Meditation
  • Samadhi- Union

Samadhi is the highest form of yoga, where you reach the level of consciousness or a vibrational level, where the intellect does not discriminate between good or bad; right or wrong; should be or should not be; must be or must not be; when one transcends ego, when one transcends the intellect, in the state of consciousness everything is god, everything is divine, everywhere is divinity which one can conquer through samadhi. All the limbs are Yama or Niyama or Asanas or any limbs of Asthanga, that leads to you achieve samadhi.

  • Yama means rules or laws of society that one should follow;
  • Niyama means rules which make for our own self to lead a higher perspective life;
  • Asanas means body postures;
  • Pranayama means science of breathing which helps us to live a healthy life ahead;
  • Pratyahara means when we take our all five senses inward and master our five senses;
  • Dharana means being with something continuously
  • Dhyana means creating and imaging
  • Samadhi means when intellect is equanimous

The whole purpose of yoga is to reach the state of samadhi. This day reminds us the purpose of life is to live a life in higher and higher consciousness where you see divinity everywhere near you. I have done SSY program in 1988-89 which transformed my life, it gave me opening to my own self, opening towards yoga. This deals with five elements; five koshas-

  • Annamaya Kosha which deals with food;
  • Pranamaya Kosha which deals with energy;
  • Manomaya Kosha which deals with Mind;
  • Vijnanmaya Kosha which deals with wisdom;
  • Anandamaya Kosha which deals with Bliss.

These are the five sources through which we get energy. Clearing and cleansing of these koshas can be possible through yoga.

The power of yoga is ultimate and tremendous.

Featured Image

About the Author:
Manoj Lekhi_Life and Business Coach_2Manoj Lekhi, Business and life coach to top corporate honchos and budding entrepreneurs. Being a follower of Guruji Rishi Prabhakar and applying teachings of Siddha Samadhi Yoga (SSY) to corporate bearings. He conducts programmes all over India and abroad which is a combination of western thoughts with Indian wisdom.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.